Skip to main content
MENU

College Programs for Students with Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities and Scholarship Opportunities

Too often students with intellectual and developmental disabilities aren't encouraged to consider college for their future. The Arc of New Jersey Family Institute wants to change that. With the right services and supports in place, many young adults can successfully attend college and graduate with a degree. Below are several college programs in New Jersey and Scholarship Opportunities that are specifically for students with intellectual and developmental disabilities.


Scholarship Opportunities


Bergen Community College - Turning Point Program

Contact:

Tracy Rand

T: 201.493.4087

E: turningpoint@bergen.edu


Bridgewater State University (Bridgewater, Massachusetts) - EXCEL Certificate Program

Contact: 

Lisa Turner

T: 508.531.2109

E: lturner@bridgew.edu


Brookdale Community College - Keep Achieving (Kach) at Brookdale

 Contact:

 Alexandria Goldrich

T: 732.493.1919

E:  agoldrich@arcofmonmouth.org

 


Camden County College - Garden State Pathways

Contact:

Trayn Burkholder

T: 856.227.7200 x4430

E: tburkholder@camdencc.edu


College of Mount Saint Vincent (Riverdale, NY) - Bridge Program

Contact 

Samantha

T: 718. 405.3241

E: bridge@mountsaintvincent.edu.

 

 


College Of Saint Elizabeth

Contact: 

Lisa Seneca

T: 973.290.4261 

E: lseneca@steu.edu


County College of Morris (Disability Services)

Contact:

Brya L. Emery

T:  802-578-0035

E:  brya@collegesteps.org


Drew

Contact:

Dana Giroux

T: 973.408.3962

E:  dgiroux@drew.edu


East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania (East Stroudsburg, PA) - Career, Independent Living and Learning Studies (CILLS)

Contact:

Domenico Cavaiuolo

T: 570.422.3893

E: dcavaiuolo@esu.edu


Fairleigh Dickinson University- Compass Program

Contact : 

Liat Schneier 

T: 201.692.2645 ext. 411

 E: compassmetro@fdu.edu

 


Georgian Court University- Transition and Career University

Contact:

Dr. Sharlene Smith

T: 732.987.2658

E: ssmith@georgian.edu

This program is able to provide federal financial aid as a Comprehensive Transition Program (CTP)


Gwynedd Mercy University (Gwynedd Valley, Pennsylvania) - Integrated Studies

Contact:

Ariana Amaya 

E: integratedstudies@gmercyu.edu


KEAN University- College Steps

Contact:

Brya Emery

T: 888.732.1022

E: brya@collegesteps.org


Lesly University (Cambridge, Massachusetts) - Threshold Program

Contact:

Colin Brady

T: 617.349.8247 

E: Cbrady5@lesley.edu

 


Mercer County Community College - DREAM program

Contact:

Susan Onaitis

T: 609.570.3375

E: onaitiss@mccc.edu

 


Ramapo College- Enhance Program

Contact:

Suzanne Calgi

T: 201.684.7522

E: enhance@ramapo.edu

 


Raritan Valley Community College - The Achievement Center

Contact:

Bob Hulit

T: 732.666.4781

E: bobh@thearcofsomerset.org


Rowan/Gloucester County College - Adult Center for Transition

 Contact: 

Jennifer Wilson

T: 856-464-5203 or 856-468-5000 ext: 6425

E: wilso45@rcsj.edu


Rutgers University -The College Support Program

Contact:

csp-info@rutgers.edu


Seton Hall University

Contact:

Gianna Graw

T: 973-313-6003

E: gianna.graw1@shu.edu

 


Stockton University- Learning Access Program

Contact:

Anthony Thomas

T: 609.652.4988

E: Anthony.Thomas@stockton.edu


Sussex County Community College- LACE program

Contact:

Patti Nugent

E: lace@sussex.edu


Syracuse University (Syracuse, NY)- Inclusive U

Contact: 

Brianna M. Shults

T:  315.443.4058    

E: bmshults@syr.edu


The College of New Jersey - Career and Community Studies

Contact:

Amy Schuler

T: 609.771.3342

E: schuler4@tcnj.edu